

Planning and Development Committee Meeting Minutes

Date: Thursday, 21 February, 2019

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: Council Chamber

Forum North, Rust Avenue

Whangarei

In Attendance Cr Greg Innes (Chairperson)

Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai

Cr Stu Bell

Cr Gavin Benney
Cr Crichton Christie
Cr Vince Cocurullo
Cr Tricia Cutforth
Cr Shelley Deeming

Cr Sue Glen Cr Phil Halse

Cr Cherry Hermon Cr Greg Martin Cr Sharon Morgan Cr Anna Murphy

Also present Marnie Muirhead (Chair Parua Bay

Residents and Ratepayers Association)

Scribe Carolyne Brindle (Senior Democracy

Adviser)

1. Declarations of Interest

Item 4.3 – Rural Plan Changes 85 A-D and 86A Rural and 102 Minerals, Operative

2. Apologies

There were no apologies.

Cr Christie joined the meeting at 9.02am following apologies.

The Chairman advised the meeting that the media would be recording parts of the meeting and taking photographs.

3. Confirmation of Minutes of Previous Planning and Development Committee Meeting

3.1 Minutes Planning and Development Committee held 11 December 2018

Moved By Cr Vince Cocurullo Seconded By Cr Greg Martin

That the minutes of the Planning and Development Committee meeting held on Tuesday, 11 December 2018, having been circulated, be taken as read and now confirmed and adopted as a true and correct record of proceedings of that meeting.

Carried

4. Decision Reports

4.1 Road Name Application - RMA Consents - KJP and VKB Ltd

Moved By Cr Vince Cocurullo Seconded By Cr Shelley Deeming

That the Planning and Development Committee approve the name of the new private road off Prescott Road, Ruakaka, as Pheasant Lane.

Carried

4.2 New Road Name - RMA Consents - Workman Properties

Moved By Her Worship the Mayor **Seconded By** Cr Anna Murphy

That the Planning and Development Committee approve the new private road off Maunu Road as Wellbeing Close.

Carried

4.3 Plan Changes 85 A-D and 86A Rural and 102 Minerals, Operative Date

Item 4.3.1 – replacement pages 233, 234, 237, 238, 240, 241, 254, 259-262, 264-266, 280 and 301, were provided separately to the agenda, but within the timeframe specified in LGOIMA.

Marnie Muirhead, addressed the committee on behalf of the Parua Bay Residents and Ratepayers Association. Ms Muirhead outlined the communities concerns in regard to high density housing and infrastructure issues and requested council pause the plan change process.

Moved By Cr Crichton Christie Seconded By Cr Sharon Morgan

That the Planning and Development Committee

- Approve the incorporation of the following plan changes into the District Plan in terms of Clause 17 of the First Schedule of the Resource Management Act 1991:
 - a. PC85 Rural Area
 - b. PC85B Strategic Rural Industry Environment
 - c. PC86A Rural Urban Expansion Environment
 - d. PC102 Minerals
- 2. Approve the incorporation of the following plan changes (in part) in terms of Clause 17 of the First Schedule of the Resource Management Act 1991:
 - a. PC85A Rural Production Environment
 - b. PC85C Rural Village Environment
 - c. PC85D Rural Living Environment
- 3. Approve the notification of Plan Changes 85 A D, 86A and 102 becoming operative in terms of Clause 20 of the First Schedule of the Resource Management Act 1991.
- 4. That Council commences a Spatial Planning Programme in 2019 prioritising urban villages and growth nodes (such as Parua Bay, Waipu, Tikipunga and Onerahi) that are experiencing growth and/or infrastructure capacity or urban design/amenity issues. In doing so Council will consider relevant planning work completed over the past 10 years, along with community support and readiness to engage.

Cr Bell gave notice that if the motion was lost he would move a further motion.

On the motion being put Cr Martin called for a division.

Recorded	For	Against	Abstain
Cr Greg Innes (Chairperson)	Χ		
Her Worship the Mayor		X	

Cr Stu Bell		Χ
Cr Gavin Benney		X
Cr Crichton Christie	X	
Cr Vince Cocurullo	X	
Cr Tricia Cutforth		X
Cr Sue Glen		X
Cr Phil Halse		X
Cr Cherry Hermon		X
Cr Greg Martin		X
Cr Sharon Morgan	X	
Cr Anna Murphy		X
Results	4	9

The motion was Lost (4 to 9)

Further motion

Moved By Cr Stu Bell
Seconded By Her Worship the Mayor

That the Planning and Development Committee

- Approve the incorporation of the following plan changes into the District Plan in terms of Clause 17 of the First Schedule of the Resource Management Act 1991:
 - a. PC85 Rural Area
 - b. PC85B Strategic Rural Industry Environment
 - c. PC86A Rural Urban Expansion Environment
 - d. PC102 Minerals
- 2. Approve the incorporation of the following plan changes (in part) in terms of Clause 17 of the First Schedule of the Resource Management Act 1991:
 - a. PC85A Rural Production Environment
 - b. PC85C Rural Village Environment
 - c. PC85D Rural Living Environment
- 3. Approve the notification of Plan Changes 85 A D, 86A and 102 becoming operative in terms of Clause 20 of the First Schedule of the Resource Management Act 1991.

On the motion being put Her Worship the Mayor called for a division.

Recorded	For	Against	Abstain
Cr Greg Innes (Chairperson)		X	
Her Worship the Mayor	X		
Cr Stu Bell	X		
Cr Gavin Benney	X		
Cr Crichton Christie	X		
Cr Vince Cocurullo		X	
Cr Tricia Cutforth	X		
Cr Sue Glen	X		
Cr Phil Halse		X	
Cr Cherry Hermon	Χ		
Cr Greg Martin	X		
Cr Sharon Morgan	X		
Cr Anna Murphy	Χ		
Results	10	3	
	Carried (10 to 3)		

Declaration of Interest:

Cr Deeming declared a reluctant conflict of interest as a submitter to the Rural Plan Changes 85 A-D and 86A Rural and 102 Minerals and took no part in voting on Item 4.3.

Cr Deeming requested it be recorded that her withdrawal from voting on Item 4.3 was with reluctance.

.5. Information Reports

5.1 Planning and Development and Strategy Operational Report - February 2019

Moved By Cr Sue Glen Seconded By Cr Sharon Morgan

That the Planning and Development Committee notes the operational report for the months December 2018 and January 2019.

Carried

6. Public Excluded Business

There was no business conducted in Public Excluded.

7. Closure of Meeting

The meeting concluded at 10.47am

Confirmed this 21st day of March 2019

Councillor Greg Innes (Chairperson)