

## **Infrastructure Committee Meeting Minutes**

Date: Thursday, 8 November, 2018

Time: 10:30 a.m.

Location: Council Chamber

Forum North, Rust Avenue

Whangarei

In Attendance Cr Greg Martin (Chairperson)

Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai

Cr Gavin Benney
Cr Vince Cocurullo
Cr Crichton Christie
Cr Tricia Cutforth
Cr Shelley Deeming

Cr Sue Glen
Cr Greg Innes
Cr Sharon Morgan
Cr Anna Murphy

Not in Attendance Cr Stu Bell

**Cr Phil Halse** 

**Cr Cherry Hermon** 

Scribe C Brindle (Senior Democracy Adviser)

#### 1. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest made at this meeting.

## 2. Apologies

Crs Stu Bell, Phil Halse and Cherry Hermon

Moved By Cr Greg Innes

**Seconded By** Cr Sharon Morgan

That the apologies be sustained.

Carried

### 3. Confirmation of Minutes of Previous Infrastructure Committee Meeting

#### 3.1 Minutes Infrastructure Committee meeting held 11 October 2018

Moved By Cr Greg Innes Seconded By Cr Sue Glen

That the minutes of the Infrastructure Committee meeting held on Thursday 11 October 2018, having been circulated, be taken as read and now confirmed and adopted as a true and correct record of proceedings of that meeting.

Carried

### 4. Decision Reports

### 4.1 New Town Basin Park - Naming Process

Moved By Cr Shelley Deeming Seconded By Cr Anna Murphy

That the Infrastructure Committee

- approves the following process for obtaining an official name for the New Town Basin Park
  - a. Request suggestions from the public
  - b. Projects Working Party and representatives from Te Parawhau shortlist five names
  - c. Elected Council select the official name from the shortlist using a priority vote.

Carried

Cr Cocurullo joined the meeting at 10.31am during Item 4.1.

# 4.2 Whangarei Waka Trust - Request for Temporary Enclosure

**Moved By** Her Worship the Mayor **Seconded By** Cr Anna Murphy

That the Committee agrees to granting a temporary Licence to Occupy for three years, to the Whangarei Waka Trust for a Temporary Waka Enclosure on the roadside berm on Onerahi Beach Rd adjacent to the Onerahi Yacht Club leased land.

On the motion being put Cr Martin called for a division:

Recorded	For	Against	Abstain
Her Worship the Mayor	Χ		
Cr Gavin Benney		X	
Cr Crichton Christie		X	
Cr Vince Cocurullo		X	
Cr Tricia Cutforth	Χ		
Cr Shelley Deeming		X	
Cr Sue Glen		X	
Cr Greg Innes		X	
Cr Greg Martin		X	
Cr Sharon Morgan	Χ		
Cr Anna Murphy	Χ		
Results	4	7	

Lost (7 to 4)

Crs Bell, Halse and Hermon were absent.

# 5. Information Reports

## 5.1 Whangarei City Wastewater Update

Moved By Cr Crichton Christie Seconded By Cr Shelley Deeming

That the Infrastructure Committee notes this update report of programmed works to reduce sewage spills and improve the wastewater system in the Whangarei City.

**Carried** 

# 5.2 Contracts Approved Under Delegated Authority

Moved By Cr Anna Murphy Seconded By Cr Sue Glen

That the Infrastructure Committee note the Infrastructure contracts awarded under Chief Executive and General Manager delegated authority.

**Carried** 

## 5.3 Whangarei Heads Transfer Station

Moved By Cr Greg Innes Seconded By Cr Sue Glen

That the Infrastructure Committee

- 1. Notes that there will be opposition to the resource consent application for the existing transfer station.
- 2. supports further engagement with the Whangarei Heads community to explore options for green waste and "self-service" rubbish disposal options.

**Carried** 

## 5.4 Infrastructure Operations Report - November 2018

**Moved By** Cr Vince Cocurullo **Seconded By** Cr Shelley Deeming

That the Infrastructure Committee Notes the Infrastructure Operations Report update.

**Carried** 

#### 6. Public Excluded Business

There was no business conducted in public excluded.

### 7. Closure of Meeting

The meeting concluded at 11.44am.

Confirmed this 6<sup>th</sup> day of December 2018

Councillor Greg Martin (Chairperson)