

Exemptions and Objections Committee Meeting Minutes

Date: Tuesday, 16 October, 2018

Time: 1:00 p.m.

Location: Council Chamber

Forum North, Rust Avenue

Whangarei

In Attendance Cr Greg Innes (Chairperson)

Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai

Cr Shelley Deeming

Cr Sue Glen

Also present Chris Harold (President RSA)

Jarrod True (True Legal Ltd)

Scribe C Brindle (Senior Democracy Adviser)

1. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

2. Apologies

There were no apologies.

3. Confirmation of Minutes of Previous Exemptions and Objections Committee Meeting

Moved By Cr Shelley Deeming Seconded By Cr Sue Glen

That the minutes of the Exemptions and Objections Committee meeting held on 1 August 2017, having been circulated, be taken as read and now confirmed and adopted as a true and correct record of proceedings of that meeting.

Carried

4. Decision Reports

4.1 Submission Hearing - Relocation of Gaming Machines by RSA

Moved By Cr Shelley Deeming **Seconded By** Her Worship the Mayor



That the Committee:

Receive the submissions made on the application by the Whangarei Returned and Services Association to relocate gaming machines to new premises and hear from those submitters wishing to be heard.

Carried

The Committee heard and deliberated on the application.

Following deliberations the Committee resolved:

Moved By Cr Innes Seconded By Cr Deeming

That the Committee:

Determines that the application from the Whangarei Returned and Services Association Incorporated to relocate nine gaming machines to 12 – 16 Hannah Street, Whangarei, be granted for the following reasons:

- a) The application complies with the Whangarei District Council Class 4 Gambling Venue Policy.
- b) The application will not have a negative impact on the character of the area.
- c) The proposed reduction in the number of gaming machines from 14 to 9, in a safe and well managed environment, meets the needs of Council's Class 4 Gambling Policy.

Carried

5. Closure of Meeting

The meeting concluded at 1.17pm

Confirmed this day of

Councillor Greg Innes (Chairperson)