

# **Community Funding Committee Meeting Minutes**

Date: Time: Location:	Wednesday, 14 February, 2018 9:00 a.m. Council Chamber Forum North, Rust Avenue Whangarei
In Attendance	Cr Crichton Christie (Chairperson) Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai Cr Tricia Cutforth Cr Sue Glen
Also Present	Cr Greg Innes Cr Greg Martin Cr Gavin Benney Cr Stuart Bell Cr Sharon Morgan
Scribe	C Brindle (Senior Democracy Adviser)

# 1. Declarations of Interest

### 2. Apologies

There were no apologies.

# 3. Confirmation of Minutes of Previous Community Funding Committee Meeting

# 3.1 Minutes Community Funding Committee 8 November 2017

Moved By Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai Seconded By Cr Greg Innes

That the minutes of the Community Funding Committee meeting held on Wednesday, 8 November 2017, having been circulated, be taken as read and now confirmed and adopted as a true and correct record of proceedings of that meeting.

Carried

#### 4. Decision Reports

#### 4.1 Allocation of the 2017-18 Community Halls Fund

Moved By Cr Sue Glen Seconded By Cr Greg Innes

That the Community Funding Committee;

1. Approves grants from the 2017-2018 Community Halls Fund to be made to the hall committees as follows:

i.	Glenbervie Hall and Recreation Society	\$5,000
ii.	Kara Kokopu Public Hall Society	\$5,000
iii.	Mangapai Hall Society	\$3,990
iv.	Mata Public Hall Society	\$5,000
٧.	Matapouri Hall Society	\$5,000
vi.	Maungakaramea Recreation Society	
	(Maungakaramea Hall)	\$3,676
vii.	Whangarei Heads Citizens Association	
	(McLeod's Bay Hall)	\$1,854
viii.	Oakura Beach Reserve Board	
	(Oakura Hall)	\$5,000
ix.	Opuawhanga Community Hall Trust	\$4,630
х.	Ruatangata Public Hall Society	\$5,000
xi.	Springfield Domain Board (Springfield Hall)	\$2,850
xii.	Waiotira Public Hall Society (conditional)	\$5,000
xiii.	Waipu Public Hall and Library Association	\$3,500
xiv.	Whakapara Hall Incorporated	\$4,500

- 2. Declines grants from the 2017-2018 Community Halls Fund to the following:
  - i. Marua Public Hall Association
  - ii. Maungatapere Community Centre
  - iii. Otaika Public Hall Society
  - iv. Pakotai Teoruoru Community Sports and Recreation Society
  - v. Parahaki Marae Committee
  - vi. Purua Hall Association
  - vii. Whananaki Beach Residents and Ratepayers Association (Whananaki Hall).

#### Carried

Cr Bell joined the meeting at 9.05am during Item 4.1

Cr Cutforth joined the meeting at 9.06am during Item 4.1

Cr Morgan joined the meeting at 9.09am during Item 4.1

# 4.2 Allocation of the 2017-18 Resident and Ratepayer Administration Fund

Moved By Cr Greg Innes Seconded By Cr Sue Glen

That the Community Funding Committee;

- a) Approves grants of \$700 each from the 2017-2018 Resident and Ratepayer Administration Fund to the following:
  - i. Brooks Area Community Group Incorporated
  - ii. Hikurangi Friendship House Charitable Trust
  - iii. Kamo Community Incorporated
- iv. The Lang Cove Residents Association
- v. Maungakaramea Recreation Society
- vi. Onerahi Community Association
- vii. Pataua Area Ratepayers and Residents Association
- viii. Portland Residents and Ratepayers Association
- ix. Ruakaka Parish Residents and Ratepayers Association
- x. Ruatangata Public Hall Society
- xi. Teal Bay Ratepayers and Residents Association
- xii. Tikipunga Community Trust
- xiii. Tutukaka Coast Ratepayers and Residents Association
- xiv. Urquharts Bay Association
- xv. Waipu Riding Residents and Ratepayers Association
- xvi. Whananaki Beach Residents and Ratepayers Association
- xvii. Whangarei Heads Citizens Association
- xviii. Whangaruru North Residents and Ratepayers Association
- xix. Whangaruru South Residents and Ratepayers Association

and

- b) Declines grants from the 2017-2018 Resident and Ratepayer Administration Fund to the following based on ineligibility:
- I. Northland Indian Association
- II. Whakapara Hall Society Incorporated
- III. Whangaruru Coastal Community and Sports Association

# Amendment:

**Moved By** Cr Greg Martin **Seconded By** Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai That the Whangaruru Coastal Community Sports Association be approved a grant of \$700.

Recorded	For	Against	Abstain
Cr Crichton Christie (Chairperson)		Х	
Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai		Х	
Cr Tricia Cutforth		Х	
Cr Sue Glen		Х	
Cr Greg Innes		Х	
Cr Greg Martin	Х		
Results	1	5	0

On the amendment being put Cr Martin called for a division:

# Lost (1 to 5) The motion was carried.

Cr Martin requested his vote against the motion be recorded.

### 5. Public Excluded Business

There was no business conducted in Public Excluded.

# 6. Closure of Meeting

Meeting concluded at 9.43am.

Confirmed this 11<sup>th</sup> day of April 2018

Councillor Crichton Christie (Chairperson)