

Date:	Tuesday, 17 August, 2021
Time:	9:00 a.m.
Location:	Council Chamber
	Forum North, Rust Avenue
	Whangarei
In Attendance	Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai
	(Chairperson)
	Cr Gavin Benney
	Cr Vince Cocurullo
	Cr Nicholas Connop
	Cr Ken Couper
	Cr Tricia Cutforth
	Cr Shelley Deeming
	Cr Jayne Golightly
	Cr Phil Halse
	Cr Greg Innes
	Cr Greg Martin
	Cr Anna Murphy
	Cr Carol Peters
	Cr Simon Reid

Scribe

C Brindle (Senior Democracy Adviser)

1. Karakia/Prayer

Cr Cocurullo opened the meeting with a karakia/prayer.

2. Declarations of Interest

Item 4.1 - Representation Review 2021 - Hearing of Submissions on the Initial Proposal

Cr Reid joined the meeting at 9.01am.

3. Apologies

There were no apologies.

4. Decision Reports

4.1 Representation Review 2021 - Hearing of Submissions on the Initial Proposal

Moved By Her Worship the Mayor Seconded By Cr Vince Cocurullo

That Council:

- Receives and hear the submissions relating to the Representation Review Initial Proposal for representation arrangements for the 2022 triennial local government elections.
- Accepts for consideration by Council, any submissions identified as being received after the close of the submission period (30 July 2021) but prior to closure of this meeting.

Carried

Submitters who were heard are listed:

Margaret Hicks

Tim Robinson

Michael Kake

Ruth Marsh - Kamo Community Inc

Aorangi Kawiti – Te Waiariki Ngati Korora Ngati Takapari hapu iwi Trust

Jeroen Jongejans

Delaraine Armstrong.

Cr Cutforth joined the meeting at 9.04am during Item 4.1.

Declarations of Interest:

It was acknowledged that Council as a whole have an interest in making a decision that potentially affects them, however legislation requires that council make a decision on representation.

Her Worship the Mayor declared an interest in regards to a family member who made a personal submission.

Cr Connop declared an interest in regards to a family member who made a personal submission.

5. Closure of Meeting

The meeting concluded at 10.04am.

Confirmed this 26th day of August 2021

Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai (Chairperson)