

Te Kārearea Strategic Partnership Standing Committee Meeting Minutes

Date: Thursday, 29 October, 2020

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: Council Chamber

Forum North, Rust Avenue

Whangarei

In Attendance Cr Phil Halse (Chairperson)

Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai

Cr Gavin Benney
Cr Ken Couper
Cr Greg Innes
Cr Anna Murphy
Cr Carol Peters
Cr Simon Reid

Delaraine Armstrong

Jade Kake

Tame Te Rangi Jared Pitman Mira Norris Aorangi Kawiti Deborah Harding Len Bristowe

Scribe N. Pestana (Team Leader Democracy)

1. Karakia/Mihi

Aperahama Edwards opened the meeting with a karakia. Mihi led by Andre Hemara. Response by Len Bristowe.

2. Declarations of Interests

There were no declarations of interest made.

3. Apologies

Aorangi Kawiti (late arrival).

Moved By Cr Gavin Benney Seconded By Cr Ken Couper

That the apology be sustained.

Carried

4. Introductions / Whakawhanaungatanga

Aorangi Kawiti joined the meeting at 9.24am during the introductions / whakawhanaungatanga.

5. Decision reports

5.1 Te Karearea Strategic Partnership Standing Committee Meeting Schedule

Moved By Jade Kake Seconded By Cr Greg Innes

That the Te Kārearea Strategic Partnership Standing Committee;

- 1. Confirms the November and December 2020 meeting dates are as follows:
 - Te Kārearea Strategic Partnership Marae based hui -18 November 2020.
 - Te Kārearea Strategic Partnership Standing Committee 9 December 2020.
 - Confirms the Te Kārearea Strategic Partnership Standing Committee will meet bi-monthly on the third Wednesday of every month.
 - 2. Confirms the Te Kārearea Strategic Partnership marae based hui will take place bi-monthly on the alternate third Wednesday of every month.
 - 3. Notes that the Council meeting schedule will be updated to include both the Te Kārearea Strategic Partnership Standing Committee and marae based hui meeting dates.

Carried

5.2 Hapu Nominations - Joint Climate Change Adaptation Committee

Moved By Cr Carol Peters Seconded By Deborah Harding

That the Te Kārearea Strategic Partnership Standing Committee endorses the hapū nominations made by Te Huinga to the Joint Climate Change Adaptation Committee being:

- Delaraine Armstrong as the primary member; and
- Rosie Wellington as the alternate member.

Carried

6. Information reports

6.1 Inaugural Te Kārearea Strategic Partnership Committee

Moved By Her Worship the Mayor **Seconded By** Cr Carol Peters

That Te Kārearea Strategic Partnership Standing Committee note the report.

Carried

6.2 Strategic work programme

Moved By Delaraine Armstrong **Seconded By** Cr Anna Murphy

That Te Kārearea Strategic Partnership Standing Committee notes the report.

Carried

Cr Benney left the meeting at 10.36am during discussions on Item 6.2. Cr Benney re-joined the meeting at 10.46am during discussions on Item 6.2.

Cr Murphy left the meeting at 10.54am during discussions on Item 6.2. Cr Murphy re-joined the meeting at 10.56am during discussions on Item 6.2.

A break was taken from 11.15am to 11.25am.

6.3 Elections 2022 - Maori representation

Moved By Cr Carol Peters
Seconded By Delaraine Armstrong

That the Te Karearea Strategic Partnership Standing Committee:

- 1. Notes the process for Council to consider Māori representation through establishment of Māori ward(s); and
- Recommends that Council consider introducing Māori representation for the 2022 and 2025 Local Government Elections through the establishment of Māori ward(s); and
- 3. Notes that Councillors need to keep an open mind on this matter.

Carried

7. Public excluded

There was no business concluded in public excluded.

8. Closure of Meeting - Karakia

Andre Hemara closed the meeting with a karakia.

The meeting concluded at 12.28pm.

Confirmed this 9th day of December 2020

Cr Phil Halse (Chairperson)