

Whangarei District Council Meeting Minutes

Date: Thursday, 24 August, 2017

Time: 1:00 p.m.

Location: Council Chamber

Forum North, Rust Avenue

Whangarei

In Attendance Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai

(Chairperson)
Cr Stu Bell

Cr Crichton Christie Cr Vince Cocurullo Cr Tricia Cutforth Cr Shelley Deeming

Cr Sue Glen
Cr Greg Innes
Cr Greg Martin
Cr Sharon Morgan
Cr Anna Murphy

Not in Attendance Cr Jayne Golightly

Cr Phil Halse

Cr Cherry Hermon

Also present:

General Manager Infrastructure (Simon Weston), General Manager Finance and Corporate (Alan Adcock), Waste and Drainage Manager (Andrew Golightly), Chris Purchas (Consultant Tonkin Taylor), Jo Floyd (Contractor Waste and Drainage), Team Leader Democracy (Nicolene Pestana), Executive Assistant (Judi Crocombe) and Senior Democracy Adviser (C Brindle)

1. Declarations of Interest

2. Apologies

Crs Jayne Golightly, Phil Halse and Cherry Hermon

Moved by Cr Vince Cocorullo Seconded by Cr Greg Innes

That the apologies be sustained.

Carried

3. Decision reports

3.1 Hearing of Submissions for the draft Waste Management and Minimisation Plan

Subsequent to the agenda being distributed two additional submissions from Anita Hollis and Penny Garland were circulated.

Moved By: Cr Greg Innes

Seconded By: Cr Tricia Cutforth

That the Council

- a) accepts the late submissions to the draft Waste Minimisation Plan.
- b) hears the verbal submissions to the draft Waste Minimisation Plan.

Carried

The submitters who were heard were:

- Viktoria Blake
- Cliff Colquhoun (Melissa Arseneault submission)
- Nora El-Shayeb
- Jessica Collins
- Brian Smith
- Brian Cox
- Penny Garland
- Margaret Hicks
- Martin Knoche
- Sandra Murray
- Jenny Kirk
- Ray Lambert and April Wilton.

4. Public Excluded Business

There was no business conducted in public excluded.

5. Closure of meeting

The meeting concluded at 3.33pm.

Confirmed this 28th day of September 2017

Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai