

Whangarei District Council Meeting Minutes

Date: Tuesday, 16 June, 2020

Time: 9:30 a.m.

Location: Council Chamber

Forum North, Rust Avenue

Whangarei

In Attendance Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai

(Chairperson)
Cr Gavin Benney
Cr Vince Cocurullo
Cr Nicholas Connop
Cr Ken Couper

Cr Ken Couper Cr Tricia Cutforth Cr Shelley Deeming Cr Jayne Golightly

Cr Phil Halse
Cr Greg Innes
Cr Greg Martin
Cr Anna Murphy
Cr Carol Peters
Cr Simon Reid

Scribe C Brindle (Senior Democracy Adviser)

1. Karakia/Prayer

Cr Peters opened the meeting with a karakia.

2. Declarations of Interest

Item 4.1 – Annual Plan 2020-21 Deliberations

3. Apology

Cr Peter's absence for a short interval was noted.

4. Decision Reports

4.1 Annual Plan 2020-21 Deliberations

Item 4.1 was taken in parts.

Motion

Moved By Cr Carol Peters

Seconded By Cr Vince Cocurullo

That Council:

- 1. Note the 122 valid submissions received on the Annual Plan 2020-21 Consultation Document.
- 2. Accept two late submissions received outside the consultation period.
- 3. Deliberate on submissions relating to the Annual Plan 2020-21 consultation question.

Carried

Motion

Moved By Cr Phil Halse Seconded By Cr Ken Couper

That Council;

- 4. Agree that the targeted rate for the Hikurangi Swamp Scheme, for the 2020-2021 financial year, is not increased from the 2019-2020 levels.
- 5. Confirm that no changes, excepting for the change to the targeted rates for the Hikurangi Swamp Scheme, will be made to the Annual Plan 2020-2021, as recommended in the deliberations report.
- 6. Note that the submissions outside the consultation question will be used to inform development of the 2020-2031 Long Term Plan.

<u>Amendment</u>

Moved By Cr Vince Cocurullo **Seconded By** Cr Jayne Golightly

That the rates increase be zero percent.

On the amendment being put Cr Innes called for a division:

Recorded	For	Against	Abstain
Her Worship the Mayor		X	
Cr Gavin Benney		X	
Cr Vince Cocurullo	X		
Cr Nicholas Connop		X	
Cr Ken Couper		X	
Cr Tricia Cutforth		Χ	
Cr Shelley Deeming		X	
Cr Jayne Golightly	Χ		
Cr Phil Halse		X	

Results	2	11	1
Cr Simon Reid		X	
Cr Carol Peters		X	
Cr Anna Murphy		X	
Cr Greg Martin			Χ
Cr Greg Innes		X	

The amendment was Lost (2 to 11)

On the motion being put Cr Halse called for a division:

Recorded	For	Against	Abstain
Her Worship the Mayor	X		
Cr Gavin Benney	X		
Cr Vince Cocurullo	X		
Cr Nicholas Connop	X		
Cr Ken Couper	X		
Cr Tricia Cutforth	X		
Cr Shelley Deeming	X		
Cr Jayne Golightly	X		
Cr Phil Halse	Χ		
Cr Greg Innes	X		
Cr Greg Martin			Χ
Cr Anna Murphy	X		
Cr Carol Peters	Χ		
Cr Simon Reid	X		
Results	13	0	1

The motion was Carried (13 to 0)

Cr Peters was absent from the meeting from 9.59am to 10.33am during discussion on Item 4.1.

Declarations of interest:

Cr Couper declared an interest in relation to the submission by the Waipu Cycle and Walkway group.

Her Worship the Mayor declared an interest in relation to the submission by the FNT13 group.

Cr Martin declared a conflict of interest in regard to the submission by the Hikurangi Swamp Scheme Pocket representatives. Cr Martin refrained from discussions on the Hikurangi Swamp Scheme rate and abstained from voting.

5. Closure of Meeting

The meeting concluded at 11.19am.

Confirmed this 25th day of June 2020

Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai