

Whangarei District Council Meeting Minutes

Date: Thursday, 5 September, 2019

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: Council Chamber

Forum North, Rust Avenue

Whangarei

In Attendance Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai

(Chairperson)
Cr Gavin Benney
Cr Vince Cocurullo
Cr Tricia Cutforth
Cr Shelley Deeming

Cr Sue Glen Cr Phil Halse

Cr Cherry Hermon
Cr Greg Innes
Cr Sharon Morgan
Cr Anna Murphy
Cr Crichton Christi

Cr Greg Martin

Scribe C Brindle (Senior Democracy Adviser)

,

1. Karakia/prayer

2. Declarations of Interest

Item 4.1 – Proposed Amendment to the Control of Vehicles on Beaches Bylaw 2009 (Langs Beach) – Deliberations

Cr Morgan declared a conflict of interest and left the meeting at 9.01am. Cr Morgan took no part in discussions or voting on Item 4.1.

3. Apologies

Cr Crichton Christie (leave of absence) and Cr Martin (absent)

Moved By Cr Vince Cocurullo Seconded By Cr Sue Glen

That the apologies be sustained.

Carried

4. Decision Reports

4.1 Proposed Amendment to the Control of Vehicles on Beaches Bylaw 2009 (Langs Beach) - Deliberations

Moved By Cr Tricia Cutforth Seconded By Cr Anna Murphy

That council deliberate on the Control of Vehicles on Beaches Bylaw 2009.

Carried

Following deliberations council resolved:

Moved By Cr Vince Cocurullo Seconded By Cr Shelley Deeming

That Whangarei District Council, at the 26 September Council meeting, confirms the amendments to the Control of Beaches Bylaw 2009 as proposed in the Statement of Proposal, including the following amendment:

'No person may drive, ride or park, or otherwise bring any vehicle or trailer onto Langs Beach in a manner that:

- a) Causes damage to the beach; or
- b) Causes a nuisance to another person; or
- c) Is dangerous; or might be dangerous to the public or any other person; or
- d) exceeds the posted speed limits.'

Carried

Cr Hermon abstained from voting on Item 4.1.

5. Information Reports

There were no information reports.

6. Closure of Meeting

The meeting concluded at 9.46am.

Confirmed this 26th day of September 2019

Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai (Chairperson)