

Whangarei District Council Meeting Minutes

Date: Tuesday, 16 April, 2019

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: Council Chamber

Forum North, Rust Avenue

Whangarei

In Attendance Cr Sharon Morgan (Chairperson)

Cr Gavin Benney
Cr Crichton Christie
Cr Vince Cocurullo
Cr Tricia Cutforth
Cr Shelley Deeming

Cr Sue Glen

Cr Cherry Hermon
Cr Greg Innes
Cr Greg Martin
Cr Sharon Morgan
Cr Anna Murphy

Not in Attendance Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai

Cr Phil Halse

Scribe C Brindle (Senior Democracy Adviser)

- 1. Karakia/Prayer
- 2. Declarations of Interest
- 3. Apologies

Her Worship the Mayor Sheryl Mai and Cr Phil Halse (absent) Cr Crichton Christie (late arrival)

Moved By Cr Greg Innes

Seconded By Cr Vince Cocurullo

That the apologies be sustained.

Carried

4. Decision Reports

4.1 2019 - 20 Draft Annual Plan

Moved By Cr Sharon Morgan **Seconded By** Cr Vince Cocurullo

That the Council:

- 1. Notes and hears feedback relating to the 2019-2020 Draft Annual Plan;
- 2. Notes that any late submissions received up until the closure of this meeting will be provided as a supplementary report.

Carried

The submitters who were heard are listed:

Alan Dowsett - Waiotoi Road sealing

Karen Gilbert-Smith – Whangarei Boys High School – School Auditorium funding

Geoff Harris – Whangarei Heads Cycle/Walkway Club – Funding Request for cycle way development

Gaylene Thompson – Hikurangi Development, Transport, Compliance

John Foreman – Attwood Road Group – Road sealing

Lee Hitchens – Equity of rates spend, road sealing

David Moon – Waipu Caledonian Society – Maintenance of park

Neil Crowther – Hikurangi Friendship Charitable Trust – Spacial Plan for Hikurangi

Tony Gill – Whangarei Public Dog Park – Dog Park Improvements, community safety

Allistair Martin – Waipu Skate park

A tea break was taken from 10.06am to 10.16am following the submission from Allistair Martin.

Kim Feickert - Road sealing Massey Road

Peter van den Berg – Road sealing Massey Road

Sheena van den Berg – Road sealing Massey Road

Suzanne Farrant – Traffic calming in Parua Bay

Jock Whitley – Parua Bay planning and traffic management

Jill Fisher – Ruakaka Community Library

Tim Howard – Northland Urban Rural Mission – Hihiaua Cultural Centre

Helen Christian – Road sealing Massey Road

Marnie Muirhead – Parua Bay Residents and Ratepayers – Multiple issues

Felix Richter – Marsden Maritime Holdings – Planning/growth infrastructure for Marsden Point

Geraldine Craw - Anawhata Museum Trust - Funding support

Alan Agnew – Community facilities, various

Kristi Henare -various

Steven Smith – Northchamber – CBD development, various

David Lourie – Shared path, storm water, various

Judy Plain – Stray cat management

Richard Gardner – Federated Farmers – Debt, Civic Centre, various

Dr Deborah Jowitt – Whangarei Heads Road

Shayne Rouse - Hikurangi Business Association - Spatial Planning Hikurangi

Kristi Henare and Alan Agnew – Regional Elderly and Disability Action Forum in Northland – Community Facility for Elderly Disabled

Warren Daniel – Ruakaka Residents and Ratepayers Association – Multiple issues

A lunch break was taken from 12.43pm to 1.00pm following the submission from Warren Daniel

Flynn Symonds and Mathilda Gritt – Youth Advisory Committee – Youth issues, environment

Maia Honetana – Nga Uri O Honetana Te Ngahuru O Ngati Hapu – multiple issues

Valerie Hegh – Stray cat management

Deborah Fong – Ruakaka Life Saving Patrol Inc – Toilet facilities at Ruakaka

Jan Boyes – Whangarei Heads Citizen Association – Roading, Waste

Diane Stoppard – Camera Obscura – Funding support

Patsy Montgomery – Road sealing Massey Road

Councillors John Bain, David Sinclair and Paul Dimery – Northland Regional Council – Bus terminal

Alex Wright – Pipiwai Titoki Advocacy for Community Health and Safety Group – Roading

Arthur Cummins – Cummins Family – Road sealing Massey Road

Grant McLeod – Hockey Northland – Funding request

Francie Bowler - Road sealing - Massey Road

John Nicole – Parua Bay Transfer Station (tabled petition 434 signatures)

Merepeka Henley - Nga Marae O Whangaruru - Marae funding

Deborah Fisher - Road sealing Massey Road

Nena Rogers – Whangaruru South Residents and Ratepayers

Association – Wetlands Project

Margaret Hicks – Multiple issues

Graham Hadlee – Road sealing Massey Road

Robin Lieffering – Climate change, playground shade

Kristi Henare, Alan Agnew and Maia Honetana – Disability Peoples Assembly Northland – Disability issues, access

A tea break was taken from 3.24pm to 3.35pm following the submission from Kristi Henare.

Bev and Terry Heappey – Road sealing Snooks Road

Don McDonald-Spice – Tikipunga Football Club – Financial support and;

Ben Lee, Owen Lee and Trevor Griffiths – Northland Football Club Inc – Football Hub support

Isabel Krauss – Experiencing Marine Reserves – Funding support for changing rooms

Martin Knoche – Transport, sustainability

Rochelle Irturbe-Stenberg – Parua Bay Residents and Ratepayers Association – Multiple issues.

The following procedural matter was addressed at 3.08pm following the submission by Margaret Hicks.

Procedural motion

Moved By Cr Sharon Morgan Seconded By Cr Sue Glen

That the meeting continue beyond 6 hours.

Carried

Cr Christie joined the meeting at 11.41am during the submission from Kristi Henare.

Cr Cocurullo did not re-join immediately following the lunch break.

Cr Cocurullo joined the meeting at 1.11pm during submission from Maia Honetana.

Cr Cocurullo left the meeting at 3.56pm during the submission by Isabel Krauss.

4.2 2019-2020 Proposed Fees and Charges

Moved By Cr Sharon Morgan Seconded By Cr Greg Innes

That the Council notes the feedback relating to the 2019-2020 Proposed Fees and Charges.

Carried

5. Public Excluded Business

There was no business conducted in public excluded.

6. Closure of Meeting

The meeting concluded at 4.29pm.

Confirmed this 30th day of May 2019

Deputy Mayor Sharon Morgan (Chairperson)